Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | December 3, 2009

Music in New York


 

New York is a city that breathes music, regardless of what one might think. There are countless venues here, where on any given night you can wonder in and listen to Latin, Middle Eastern, Asian (Korean Jazz on W32nd St.!!) at little or no cost at all save your bar tab. The same goes with other genres, ranging from rock to jazz to everything in between.

Selecting who to hear might be a daunting task. Just walking through Greenwich Village, you find well-known venues like The Blue Note, The Village Vanguard, Cornelia Street Cafe, The Village Underground, Small’s, the more affordable Fat Cat, The Village Bistro and the veritable Bitter End, where names like Woody Allen, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel and Neil Diamond made their names in decades past.

And there is also Brooklyn, Queens, The Bronx and Staten Island – just in Park Slope there are the Tea Lounge, Barbes and Southpaw – to mention a few. On my neck of the woods I can mention Cargo Cafe (jazz on Wednesdays), Adobe Blues (music on the weekend) , Killmeyer’s Bavarian Inn and Alor Cafe, a new jazz venue that I am yet to find out exactly where it is.

Given my work schedule and the fact that I need time to write and sleep (don’t get much of that these days) I try limit my music outings to 1-2 times a week (sometimes more, especially in the summer). I know it doesn’t sound as much, but if you consider that by the end of the year I have attended almost 200 shows, you begin to understand how it is. Lately, I’ve been avoiding going anywhere on Sunday night – after all, I do need a day for cooking my elaborate dishes while watching a DVD while going through a bottle of wine or two with the missus.

For those who happen to be in town, I can recommend a few things that are going on this weekend. Tonight, the great Hiromi Uehara plays at Carnegie Hall. I have written a lot about her, so I guess introductions are not exactly needed. On Friday, New York-born vocalist Alexis Cole performs at St. Peter’s Church in celebration of her new collection of Holiday songs entitled The Greatest Gift – Songs of The Season, a disc made with a cause in mind: the proceedings from both her New York and Chicago concerts benefit the World Bicycle Relief. You can find details on her web page at www.alexiscole.com (I will be attending that one)

On Saturday, Renaldo The Ensemble plays its final performance at The Living Room – they’ve had a longtime residence there doing their mix of Latin, burlesque, opera, rock God knows what else. I heard their recent self-release CD What Are You? and was impressed by what I heard. Unfortunately I have been unable to catch them live as they perform after 11 – and I need to be up at 8 on Sunday in order to prepare to play at the church of Our Lady on Pompeii on Sunday afternoon – and I need my beauty sleep. Check them out at http://www.myspace.com/therenaldotheensemble

Finally, those inclined to sacred music might want to head to Emmanuel Baptist Church in Brooklyn (279 Lafayette Avenue), where my good friend David Russell will be part of a band performing a special Holiday music program – Performances will be at 8, 10 and 12 noon. For more info, visit http://www.ebc-ny.org

 

New York is a city that breathes music, regardless of what one might think. There are countless venues here, where on any given night you can wonder in and listen to Latin, Middle Eastern, Asian (Korean Jazz on W32nd St.!!) at little or no cost at all save your bar tab. The same goes with other genres, ranging from rock to jazz to everything in between.

 

Selecting who to hear might be a daunting task. Just walking through Greenwich Village, you find well-known venues like The Blue Note, The Village Vanguard, Cornelia Street Cafe, The Village Underground, Small’s, the more affordable Fat Cat, The Village Bistro and the veritable Bitter End, where names like Woody Allen, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel and Neil Diamond made their names in decades past.

 

And there is also Brooklyn, Queens, The Bronx and Staten Island – just in Park Slope there are the Tea Lounge, Barbes and Southpaw – to mention a few. On my neck of the woods I can mention Cargo Cafe (jazz on Wednesdays), Adobe Blues (music on the weekend) , Killmeyer’s Bavarian Inn and Alor Cafe, a new jazz venue that I am yet to find out exactly where it is.

 

Given my work schedule and the fact that I need time to write and sleep (don’t get much of that these days) I try limit my music outings to 1-2 times a week (sometimes more, especially in the summer). I know it doesn’t sound as much, but if you consider that by the end of the year I have attended almost 200 shows, you begin to understand how it is. Lately, I’ve been avoiding going anywhere on Sunday night – after all, I do need a day for cooking my elaborate dishes while watching a DVD while going through a bottle of wine or two with the missus.

 

 

For those who happen to be in town, I can recommend a few things that are going on this weekend. Tonight, the great Hiromi Uehara plays at Carnegie Hall. I have written a lot about her, so I guess introductions are not exactly needed. On Friday, New York-born vocalist Alexis Cole performs at St. Peter’s Church in celebration of her new collection of Holiday songs entitled The Greatest Gift – Songs of The Season, a disc made with a cause in mind: the proceedings from both her New York and Chicago concerts benefit the World Bicycle Relief. You can find details on her web page at www.alexiscole.com (I will be attending that one)

 

 

On Saturday, Renaldo The Ensemble plays its final performance at The Living Room – they’ve had a longtime residence there doing their mix of Latin, burlesque, opera, rock God knows what else. I heard their recent self-release CD What Are You? and was impressed by what I heard. Unfortunately I have been unable to catch them live as they perform after 11 – and I need to be up at 8 on Sunday in order to prepare to play at the church of Our Lady on Pompeii on Sunday afternoon – and I need my beauty sleep. Check them out at http://www.myspace.com/therenaldotheensemble

 

Finally, those inclined to sacred music might want to head to Emmanuel Baptist Church in Brooklyn (279 Lafayette Avenue), where my good friend David Russell will be part of a band performing a special Holiday music program – Performances will be at 8, 10 and 12 noon. For more info, visit http://www.ebc-ny.org

Leave a Reply

Categories

