Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | June 10, 2011

Music That Formed My Life: MGM Musicals


Responses

  1. Hi,Ernest!!
    I enjoy reading your articles and once in a while I am urged to give you some feedback, so you don;t think I am not interested.

    I was so glad to read about the influence the MGM musicals had in your life, because they had the same or greater impact in mine as well. I was an only child for my entire first part of my life. I also was very sheltered and protected. I could only play outside when my mom came home from work, I would spend the day at school and at home with my grandmother, so TV was my window to the world,so to speak,ad I soaked everything from it, the good,the bad and the ugly. Fortunately, there wasn’t much ugliness back then.

    The musicals were my all time favorite, and I still enjoy them to this day. They have instilled in me a lifelong love for movies an they were my companions for many years. I guess that is the reason TV stills relaxes me, although I have to pick it with a fine comb to find something worth watching nowadays.

    Now I’m going to find a musical and watch it again. You’ve made me crave for one.

    Take care!!

    C.H.

  2. These are all amazing musicals! I love “New York, New York” in On the Town – one of the best numbers in the movies, I think, and NYC looks so beautiful in it.

    I can’t wait to check out the new stage version of Singin’ in the Rain which just opened in London’s West End; I’ve got my tickets already! And who knows, perhaps it will be on Broadway soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

