Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | December 4, 2012


In the Kitchen and Around The World

 

A recent e-mail exchange with a friend over the time of a social event reminded me of an article I read on the New Yorker about the ‘cavalier attitude’ that some Latin American cultures have towards punctuality. In that piece, author James Surowiecki argued that being punctual increases productivity and that “tardiness feeds on itself, creating a vicious cycle of mañana, mañana.”  The exchange also reminded me of how  how I have suffered with lateness both in my Brazilian years and after I relocated here 12 years ago.

During most of my adult life (except for a brief self-destructive period in my mid-20s) I have always been extremely punctual, and have always paid the price for it.  I recall that once I was invited for a birthday party in Fortaleza, Brazil and the invitation read 6:00 PM. Taking in consideration that this was a 2-year-old’s party, I got there on…

View original post 519 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

