Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | September 9, 2013

My Online Cooking Sources plus Shrimp and Egg Moqueca


By Ernest Barteldes

As I have written before, over the years I have amassed a considerable collection of cookbooks, magazines and recipes over the years that have been good sources for various recipes I have either learned, rediscovered or reinvented An example of this is my recent trial of mixed seafood moqueca served not over white rice but fresh pasta – an idea that came to me as I was preparing a simple dish of linguini and mixed seafood when I realized I had
coconut milk, tomatoes and unfiltered palm oil in stock.

More recently, however, I have been relying more and more on many online cooking websites, blogs and apps in order to get ideas for what meals to cook. One reason is simple: it is much easier to go online and find a long-forgotten recipe than go through that box of old Gourmet and Bon Appétit
issues I collected over the years (oh my allergies!). Another reason is that there are so many new ideas and twists on classic dishes – for instance, Ingrid Hoffman of Univision’s Delicioso often comes up with healthier takes on Latin dishes, while the late Linda McCartney
would offer many creative ways to adapt dishes like chili or goulash into her meatless lifestyle.

In acknowledgement of these and more sites, I’d like to offer some of my personal favorites (in no particular order):

Epicurious.com: The online incarnation of both Gourmet and Bon Appétit, it has every single recipe ever issued in print on both magazines. It is there where I run to when I
remember something delicious I prepared once or twice and don’t want to go through that dreaded box in my storage closet (also, Renata isn’t too happy about me making my manly mess). It is arguably the best English-language online source for amateur cooks like me.

Univision Delicioso (Spanish):
Another personal favorite – they store the many recipes that host Ingrid Hoffman has presented on her weekly cooking show on the Spanish-language channel. They also have an app for iPhone where you can search recipes, watch videos and even look for substitute ingredients that you might not be able to
find at your local supermarket. Another great feature is their bilingual English/Spanish dictionary, which is quite helpful when at loss about a particular ingredient.

Tudogostoso.com.br
(Portuguese): If you understand Portuguese, this is the place to go for traditional Brazilian recipes unadulterated by English-speaking cooks that tend to alter a particular dish to fit international tastes. It is there where I found out how to properly make baked codfish or Moqueca Capixaba, a southeastern adaptation of the original Bahian dish (it basically doesn’t take
unfiltered palm oil) of the same name.

Cooks.com: A great guide that
contains a great archive of simple, quick recipes and more complicated stuff as well. The site has been one of my go-to online resources for many of the recipes I use on a daily basis at home and that have found their way into the blog –including many of the Hawaiian dishes I posted here recently.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef One of the few blogs I actually follow, it is written by Pat Geyer – his cooking blog is filled with detail and photos of the entire cooking process of whatever he makes. The blog is quite popular and instructive – and he clearly is passionate about the dishes makes and his experimenting in the kitchen.




Shrimp Moqueca with Eggs

Source: Tudodelicioso.com.br

This is a variation on the
traditional moqueca recipe, which I tried after talking with legendary Braziliansinger Baby do Brasil, who told me to add eggs to the dish – something she reportedly learned from her former mother-in-law.

  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small shredded onion
  • 2 chopped garlic cloves
  • Chopped cilantro, to taste
  • 1/2 chopped bell pepper
  • Kosher salt to taste
  • 1 can coconut mill
  • 3 tablespoons unfiltered palm oil (found in Jamaican or
    Brazilian stores)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 lb. medium shrimp shelled and deveined.
  • Hot sauce (optional)

 

Instructions:

Heat the oil in a
large skilled or medium pot and add the vegetables. Sauté, stirring constantly, until tender. Add the shrimp keep stirring until they change color (about 4
minutes). Add the coconut milk and cilantro and simmer gently until heated
through. Add the eggs and stir gently until they are cooked. Serve with white
rice

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

