Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | December 20, 2013

The Inappropriate Side of Christmas Music


I edited the post to update the videos — now you can hear all the songs

In the Kitchen and Around The World

Don’t get me wrong – I’m all for secularism when it comes to Christmas songs – sure, it is a Christian Holiday and all, but I guess other faiths would like to feel included, and just because a song doesn’t mention Jesus and Mary at the manger doesn’t mean that it should be ignored in the first place. There are gems like “White Christmas” by Irving Berlin that is an evergreen since its release decades ago.  

However, there are some songs I just don’t get – some don’t have much connection with the holiday at all, while others just send the wrong message.

I will start with a tune I actually like – “Winter Wonderland,” a classic that has seen many recordings since its debut in the 1930s. While I enjoy the theme of the joys of winter, I fail to understand why it qualifies as a Christmas song…

View original post 428 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

