Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | October 23, 2014

Music in The Kitchen! Plus Mexican Eggs


For the longest time I wanted to have loudspeakers in the kitchen – our iPhone-friendly Sony stereo has fine speakers, but in order for the music to be heard, we had to crank the volume up to 11 – which would result with our neighbors hearing way much more than we did.

A temporary solution was hooking up my phone to a battery-operated loudspeaker, but that limited things to either my playlist or the unpredictability of apps like Pandora and TuneIn Radio – sure, they are great at times, but considering that Renata and I have accumulated thousands of CDs over the years and that I do have a lot of music to listen to for potential reviews, I felt that I was missing a great opportunity to use the time to listen to all that stuff – and then there was the fact that our albums were doing little more than gathering dust.

Come our last anniversary (in September, if anyone was wondering), Renata presented me with something I had been considering for a long time – a four-channel speaker selector that made it possible for me to install a couple of speakers that had been sitting in the closet for the longest time – survivors of past stereo systems that we’d purchased in the past but that were no longer in use.

I must say the result has been awesome. I can now cook into the night without worrying about getting an eviction notice because I’d become a nuisance of some kind. In the last few weeks, I have digging into our collection and hearing albums I’d nearly forgotten while allowing that growing pile I get from publicists and labels (at least those who have not gone fully digital yet). Having music actually play in the kitchen has made the fun of cooking even more pleasurable, because the sound quality is way much better than what I used to get from a four-inch battery operated speaker.

I still listen to the radio stations from time to time (I almost never miss Breakfast With The Beatles on Q104.3), but revisiting those gems that had been sitting in the living room is a much more interesting experience.

Has my cooking improved because of this? That is a hard question to answer, since I am highly critical of what I make (go ahead, ask Renata). But now I wonder what to do with those other two remaining slots – maybe I should install a couple more speakers in the bathroom? It would make for a more interesting… shower experience.

Recipe:

Mexican-style eggs

(Serves 4)

Source: Univision Delicioso

INGREDIENTS

3 tbsp. canola oil
1 small white onion, finely chopped
1 jalapeño, stemmed, seeded, and finely chopped
1 plum tomato, cored, seeded, and finely chopped
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
2 tbsp. thinly sliced cilantro leaves
8 eggs, lightly beaten

 

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat oil in a 12″ skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, jalapeño, and tomato, season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring, until soft, about 6 minutes.2. Add cilantro and eggs, and cook, folding eggs over in large curds occasionally, until cooked through, about 4 minutes.
Leave a Reply

Categories

