Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | March 16, 2015

Sunday Breakfast: Not the time to rush plus “Cuban” Burritos


Years ago Renata and I decided that buying a bagel with cream cheese on the way to work was not the best of options – first because it is an unnecessary expense, and second that it is not the healthiest thing to have in the first place.

Every morning as I begin brewing our morning coffee as Renata is still snoozing, I fire up our toaster oven and make us two cheese and cold cut sandwiches. Sometimes I have a bowl of cereal, but found that it was more effective to take a shower while the oven did its job. Once I am out of the shower, I pour a cup of coffee, get dressed and prepare my backpack for the day ahead. I end the routine by leaving Renata’s breakfast and packed lunch by her bead along with a cup of coffee and go out my door. The routine is complete as I eat my sandwich on the Staten Island Ferry accompanied by a book or a magazine (I stopped reading daily newspapers a long time ago).

On weekends it is a completely different story, and that is especially true on Sunday, when I have more time on my hands to make something a bit more special.  On Saturdays it’s not that different from the rest of the week, since I still get up early to go to the gym, but the sandwich is a bit more elaborate. But on Sundays I treat breakfast in a very special way, and try to do something different every time, and vary from baked frittatas to vegetable omelets and even breakfast pizza, a recipe I discovered when Renata and I had brunch at this place in downtown Manhattan (don’t ask, I cannot remember exactly where it was)

One thing I have become fond of making is breakfast burritos – there are many varieties, going from Santa Fe (made with potatoes, chorizo, salsa cheese and eggs) to what is called “Cuban style,”  which is an easy scramble with eggs, ham, cheese and red bell peppers wrapped into a tortilla –  a filling way to start the day.

“Cuban” Burritos

(Source: Univision Delicioso)

Ingredients

3 large eggs

¾ cups of chopped ham

1 bell pepper, chopped

½ cup shredded cheese (I use cheddar or Monterey Jack)

Salt and pepper to taste

½ tbsp. butter

2 burrito-size flour tortilla

Instructions:

Melt the butter and sauté the red pepper until softened. Add the ham and stir or another minute and add the eggs. Scrambling until cooked. Add salt and pepper and divide mixture in two, placing each half in heated tortilla. Wrap and serve accompanied by tropical fruit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

