Posted by: Ernest Barteldes | October 19, 2016

Potatoes! Potatoes!


whole-and-sliced-raw-potatoes

By Ernest Barteldes

I find potatoes to be among the most versatile vegetables ever – I mean, how many ways can you use prepare them? You can bake, mash, broil, slice, boil or fry them – anything but serving them raw (haven’t seen a recipe yet, but let me know – I was surprised with raw Russian beets already).

Though I do everything that is on the above list, one of my favorite concoctions is twice-baked potatoes – which are a great alternative to sandwiches or other quick dinners that are not part of the usual lineup. Sure, it take a bit of preparation, since you have to bake the potatoes once, remove them from the oven, scoop them and then mix them with whatever you mix might be. But seriously, the first step is so easy – does it kill you to throw a few potatoes in the oven for an hour or so?

Anyway, this is the way I have done it for a while. I recall that years ago some telemarketer from some phone company called me as I was preparing them and somehow we engaged into a conversation (this was before I met Renata, so I was pretty lonely) . She asked me if I could cook other things and she asked me where I lived … but she was in Tennessee.

I am not complaining – soon after I met the love of my life, and she does like the way I make this recipe.

Anyway, this is how it goes

Twice Baked Potatoes

1033249144001_2028929599001_900944612-18080-1355270734914

(serves 4)

Ingredients:

four large potatoes

two cups ricotta cheese

½ cup sour cream

salt and pepper to taste

paprika to taste

garlic powder to taste

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350F. Put the potatoes on a baking sheet and bake for an hour. Remove from oven and let them cool (you can bake the potatoes a day early). Once cool enough to handle, scoop the pulp and mash. Add other ingredients (except paprika) and then spoon back into skins. Top with paprika and bake for 30 minutes. Allow to stand for about 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

Categories

